Pebble Number Three: Icy Morning

January 3, 2014

Crisp stillness is held together by the edges of twilight. Planets twinkle in the sky while the breeze bites the nape of my neck. I realize how much I miss my bed, focusing on the crackle and crunch of snow as it’s scraped from the windshield. Ca-crunch! Ca-crunch! It  Dawn approaches in a slow moving dance across the sky, promising warmth as the cold seeps into my bones. I ignore the empty promise and watch the pavement rush up to meet my feet a little too quickly, jarring groggy ankles and knees that dream of vacation gumdrops and jumps and leaps.

Leave a Reply

